BJJ: Gi or No-Gi

I've been doing BJJ No-gi for about 3 months now. In one month, I will have to move, so I won't be able to train at my school.

Where I'm going to move there is 2 schools that I'm interested in. One gives 2 No-Gi et 5 Gi classes and the other one 7 No-Gi classes.

The school are 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu in Montreal and Montreal BJJ.

I'm still wondering which one to choose.

Can anyone give me some feedback about both of them (Gi or No-Gi). I would appreciate any comments from the BJJ practionner.

Thx

If you go to 10th Planet, you're going to be learning Eddie Bravo's system of jiu-jitsu. While it's based off of traditional BJJ, Bravo's system puts a big emphasis on the rubber guard and less on other aspects of jiu-jitsu. The 10th Planet system uses a number of oddly named positions such as mission control and chill dog and teaches the student how to flow between those positions to control and submit the opponent.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of the 10th Planet system. While there is certainly a lot of value to be gained from studying their techniques, I think it is better to get a firm foundation in the basics of BJJ first and then study the 10th Planet techniques if you find them interesting. Eddie also eschews the use of the gi entirely, so if you study there exclusively then your gi skills will obviously fall behind someone who studies traditional BJJ.

I think it is wise to study both gi and no gi, but it really is a personal choice that depends on what you want to get out of your jiu-jitsu training. If you are learning the art strictly to use it for MMA, then no gi is probably the way to go (at least for the majority of your training). But if you're looking to be a well-rounded student of the art, then I recommend starting with the gi.